Right & Left

Feathers!

In Uncategorized on January 10, 2010 at 8:34 pm

I’m always fascinated by intricate things. It’s no surprise then, that Kate MccGwire’s beautiful feather sculptures in her ‘Dead or Alive’ exhibit at MOMA caught my eye. Kate’s work is strange and charming and the sheer scale and delicacy of it is really inspiring. Whenever I see work like Kate’s, I can’t help but be pulled into the journey of the process, the background thinking and working – and most of all, the necessary commitment to a creative thought that often spans over very long periods of time.

“Intrinsic to her method is the collecting and sorting of materials from hundreds of different sources over a period of months, even years. In turn, pieces evolve intuitively as if out of the subconscious, the language evocative rather than purely illustrative.”

I’ll admit that sometimes in excercising my own creativity,  I tend to prefer instant gratification – quick projects with rapid results. Kate’s work certainly puts my own patience in perspective and gives us something to think about as the new year brings new projects.

via boooom

  1. That’s beautiful. I would love to eavesdrop on the little voice in her head that tells her when it’s finished. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

